Question for the technically minded - VPN and data protection

Litenbror

Eats Squid
Woah dude, don't get your back up, you're posting a lot in this thread and gave the idea that you're up for the discussion.

This doesn't seem like an issue for those of us that don't have a google account. The problem of apps also aren't an issue if you don't use them and you disable the ones that come stock and cannot be deleted. If you use DuckDuckGo and a VPN on the device, that adds another obvious layer. Lastly, if you use Signal or other such methods for coms there is a layer of encryption, which, I'm assured by my friends hasn't yet been cracked.

So apart from the standard data collected by your phone company, I'm genuinely interested to learn what other ways my phone is dobbing on me. I'm sure those ways exist, but I'm a noob in this space and am keen to learn.
For the phone it might help @johnny if we know the environment you are using? I can assume it's not android because you alluded to not having a Google account but that's an assumption. I think @Squidfayce is pointing out in the last few posts how your phone and other technology can circumvent many of the methods used to avoid data correlation by combining data sources eg. Google knowing your wifi mac address from street view then connecting that with info from your phone and TV.

johnny

I'll tells ya!
Staff member
I'm using a late version iPhone, so no google ID (TV not connected to wifi) and as mentioned up the page, all standard procedures taken to restrict access to data (I really don't have much use for apps, I don't use my phone for much other than calls, messages, emails and standard web stuff).

If there's not much more I can do but accept the residual data loss, so be it. I know I can't be anonymous and it's not really my goal. But if there are simple strategies I can use to tighten things up on my phone, I'm keen to know what they are.

Squidfayce

Eats Squid