Tertiary Education & Careers.

-|Sean|-

Likes Dirt
For those who are either currently studying at Uni/Tafe, or those who have since left & are now working full time - was there a certain point where you said to yourself "Yep, this is what I want to do"?

I'm studying a Building Design Diploma at Tafe at the moment, I'm only half a semester in & I'm beginning to doubt my choices. I have quite a lot of work to do the next 5-6 weeks, and a few reports due in the next couple of days - but next to no motivation to do them.

I'm beginning to convince myself I'm doing the wrong course because I'm not interested in the work I've been given, and this is supposed to be 'my career' kinda thing, you know?

Pete_10

Likes Bikes and Dirt
I'm at uni now and I couldn't see myself doing it if I wasn't interested in what I was studying.

It's your life. If you don't want to do it, don't.

eyes

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Don't worry, the first few semesters of most courses are 'swine flu' boring...

Go and hammer the TAFE careers counciller, if you haven't already, ask them to assess you, your existing skills, your goals & aspirations and see if these align with what you are currently studying.

slip

Beefcake...BEEFCAKE!!!
Nothing is all beer and skittles. The things I love most sometimes require the most boring/expensive/stressful/time draining work behind the scenes.

Often, actually.

But that said, what you think a job will be like, and what it really entails can be very different. You may just be learning that. Or maybe not - If you want the qualification, do the shit.

RangaRMX

Likes Dirt
Hmm, that all depends, did you go straight from school to TAFE?