Looking after a weary body...

Exie

Likes Dirt
I think this is the right Forum for this :)

Throughout 2010 so far, I've encountered a range of aliments, from joint aches to "noisey" knees. When I started riding again I didnt care for such things, I just threw the leg over and I was off. But I've REALLY noticed a measurable deterioration of the body in the last 6 months.

Poor old HBA have spent a fortune at my Chiropractor! However last week i was talking with them and they asked about my flexibility... I gave them a dumb look.... to which they stretched me out and seemed quite horrified. Said something about my back is fine, and hamstrings + glutes are overloading my back.

So she gave me a routine of stretches I have to do 2-3 times a day. I begrudgingly have been doing them, and am really surprised how much they've helped.

So... what other handy(eg. practical) tips do you have to look after your body ?

4dabush

Likes Dirt
Lots of fishoil capsules every day keeps my knees quiet. Bit of stretching, riding to and from my trails as a warm up/cool down. (unless doing shuttles, but even then I often ride to meet the ute!)

Exie

Likes Dirt
Lots of fishoil capsules every day keeps my knees quiet. Bit of stretching, riding to and from my trails as a warm up/cool down. (unless doing shuttles, but even then I often ride to meet the ute!)
Really ? Mine sound dreadful, I can almost feel the grinding. I actually saw the doc about it and she said "Yeah, thats normal, nothing you can do about it"

I will pick some up tomorrow and see if it helps. :) I love my bike, but dont want to end up in a wheel chair in 20 years because I didnt look after my knees.

JP

Likes Dirt
Try glucosamine. It's meant to help with cartilage issues, especially knees. Just ask whoever you buy it off (chemist, health food store etc) for a spiel on it first.