How to hop?

jessebatty

Likes Dirt
Hi 'pro trials riders' well your pro to me anyway.
I have just started to get into a bit of trials and I can hop about half a foot high but i want a bit of advice as to how to hop onto a bench and just a bit of halp and a some tips.

Thanks Jessebatty.

tba

Likes Dirt
Hey mate

Not exactly sure what you mean by "hop up onto a bench"
But i'm assuming since your starting out that the following will be most helpful.
I'd say the best place to start, is with a bench about a foot high, or something similar.

Roll up to it, with your bad foot forward. Cranking with your bad foot, get your front wheel onto the bench. You should now have your good foot forward. Keep rolling forward the hole time. However just after your front wheel is on the bench (and your rear one is coming closer), throw all your weight up and forward, and pull the bike up under you.

Hope this makes sense, i'm not great at explainging this kinda stuff on paper. I'm pretty new to trials myself, so some of the other guys on here may be of much more help ;)

Note: just in case you're not clear, your "good foot" is the one you naturally have forward. e.g. if you do a jump, or even if you just standing up rolling down a hill, which ever foot you naturally put forward is your good one.

Cheers
and enjoy :D

bellsy

Likes Dirt
Pedal-Up
Its a bit hard to learn getting the timing right of when to kick/jump. Best way I've found is to experiment a bit with your run up length. I start with my good foot forwards (or in a short run-up, down)
Start your pedal stroke, and once your bad foot is at the top, pedal a bit harder and lift the front wheel off the ground.
Once your good foot is at top, you want to preload with your arms and legs a bit then give your good foot a really powerfull kick on the pedals, and pull up the rear end (remembering your front is still in the air).