GST Question for an accountant

rhyno

Likes Dirt
I have a hopefully simple question for an accountant or someone who may have dealt with this sort of situation before, it's bike related so I figured I'd ask this great community first.
The scenario:

The bike club I am an officer for sells Merchandise, we have done this for some time directly to the members. It's proving to be difficult to manage and arrange times for people to make purchases, so we have negotiated a deal with some local bike stores.
The deal: We supply a box of merch to them to sell on at no markup (so the prices remain the same as if we were selling direct, and we suffer no loss of margin), then they pay us for what they sell each period (months, weeks, who knows). They are happy with this 0% setup as they are happy to help the club.
The issue arises with GST. As a club we don't have to charge GST on purchases as we are too small, however, the shops have to charge GST.
Are we going to take a 10% hit and only charge them for the item price, minus the GST and let them pay the GST as usual, or is there a way that it can go through GST free?
We want to make this as easy for the shops as possible as they are doing us a favor here.
Cheers Guys and Girls.

Ryan

jumpers

Likes Dirt
Only way around is shop wil lhave to add 10% gst onto the price - they will remit the 10% gst to ato and you will still get same price. Yep seems bit unfair but thats tax for you. Cant see anyway to sell it gst free if they are registered for gst .

Registered Nutcase

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Call up the ATO. They are usually pretty helpful, otherwise perhaps can it be a "donation" for the goods. like the chocolate boxes or other things most shops sell on behalf of a charity and keep it cash only?

rhyno

Likes Dirt
Thanks guys for the replies.