Advice sought for a new rider!

BlakZ

Likes Dirt
Hi All,

I am still very new to this beast of a sport, and now I want to start DH. I live in the southeast suburbs of Melbourne. Nearly 22 YO. Looking for people to ride with too at the moment so give me a holla if you want to help a new guy!

I’ve done all the forum searches I can think of, but please link me somewhere else if it has been covered.

Firstly, I have heard of community mornings/afternoon/evenings that exist for DH clubs. I think this would be a good place to start, meet some people, gather some advice, and ease into it. What clubs and communities can I look at joining in Melb? And how do I obtain further information on them and these DH meets?

I still don’t know exactly what kind of bike(s) I want. So until I make that decision I will rocking my hardtail on the DH to learn the ropes. I have ordered arm and leg armour, and already have elbow and knee pads. I understand the amount of PPE to wear is a personal decision, but because I don’t 100% understand what I am in for, I wanted to suss out some opinions- Should I invest in a full face helmet before my first DH ride, or is it likely that I will be sh*tting myself and going slow for a while anyway? I am extremely safety conscious, don’t get me wrong, just throwing it to the floor... Anyone got any further advice on DH PPE for a new guy?

That will do for now, I’d appreciate any words of advice you have!

This is the machine that will be taking me to the Olympics:

bieekk.jpg

EDIT: Not actually going to the Olympics.

bogada

Likes Dirt
I used to ride a hardtail and wear a normal mtb helmet - it felt ok. The first run on a proper dh bike tho and I went straight out and bought a full face - felt too fast and dangerous to not have my noggin covered. I'd say to hit up a few ride days with what you got but if you start going faster or have a few diggers - upgrade.