Thoughts on this Bike?

onawave

Squid
Hi all,

Firstly sorry, this is not a spam post. Just someone new to the boards looking for some feedback on a bike im thinking about buying.

Anyway, here is the link to the bike. http://bicyclingaustralia.com/classifieds/view/5510/

Does that seem quite high price for the bike? Or is that what I would be expecting to pay for a "boutique" brand.

thanks advance.

Onawave

Last edited:

mtb101

Likes Bikes and Dirt
for that kind of money get a new bike, you want the full warranty cover of new and you know you're the only one that's used it or abused it. What are they worth new? Frameset is: $2755 USD.

onawave

Squid
yeah wasnt sure how much the other parts were worth. im pretty new to the whole mtn biking business. actually just had my 1st ride ever in whistler 2 weeks ago, and now im basically hooked. looks like it will be much cheaper for me to use some canadian connections that i have rather than going through all this effort of trying to get a bike here in auz....

appreciate the feedback though so far. keep it coming!

cheers

oaw

mtb101

Likes Bikes and Dirt
all you really need is a good frame from OS, then you can buy most parts here or online at CRC. If it's your first bike, I would go for a lower end model (buy a full bike) mainly so you won't feel so bad when you crash it, if you are just starting out you really 'don't' want to be riding a $$$ bike yet. and you can only take full advantage of a big $$ bike when you know how to push the limits. Also you never know you might like DH but a bit of all mountain or XC (depends on tracks, what mates ride) so keep options open.

Nerf Herder

Wheel size expert
Guessing at prices (presume new @ RRP)

Frame: Knolly Delirium med raw $3400
Fork: 2010 fox float 36 rlc fit damper $2400 (incl shock) prolly a bit more.
Rear shock: Fox dhx 5.0 air (see above)
Wheels: DT EX 500 rims, Hope pro 2 hubs, dt spokes $600 big guess
Brakes: Avid elixer carbon $400