The Tool Thread

bear the bear

Is a real bear
K, I admit it I'm a tool whore I love well made tools.
I thought I'd start this thread to condense general discussions about bike tools. Mods can make this a sticky if they feel it's worthy....

So to start off, what brand allen keys are everyone using?

Personally I've got a set of Park blue that are about 12 years old and starting to show signs of rounding off finally.

stirk

Burner
Using the 200 various Allen keys I have from 20 years of IKEA torture partners have put me through.

And some various keys I've been using for 23 years, all quality stuff I inherited from a fitter mainly abused on motorbikes now and have two new sets from bondhus which are good but I tend to reach for the old favorites.

Also bought a little torque wrench for the MTB and have used it once, should sell it.

Now what the best hammer?

Scotty675

Cable thief
A7495FF4-F594-4B0D-A861-6682A7D0E8AE.png
Kincrome normally although I bought a set of x tool like picture and have been surprised they have lasted. Good set for working on the bikes.

Oddjob

Merry fucking Xmas to you assholes
OoOoOoOoh!

Allen keys:
- Superstar t handle
-Parktool combination
-Unbrako metric set

Favourite tools
-Icetoolz work stand. This thing is built like a tank yet folds up nicely. I've had it for 15 years and its still going strong.
-Parktool beam torque wrenches. Accurate forever.
-Cyclus Bottom Bracket Threading And Facing Tool. I've always wanted one and I picked it up for a steal of facebook.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

pink poodle

気が狂っている男
I've got the ones with the gorilla on them. Friends hooked me up years ago when I was always fixing other people's bikes in the kitchen workshop. "the gorilla couldn't bend them, so they should last" is what one of them told me. He was right.

They spend a lot of time in the magnetic parts tray and are now a wee touch magnetic. However not enough to really hold onto the bits I'd like them to.

shiny