Pumping up a Maxxis UST tubeless tire?

bobb

Likes Bikes
I recently brought a bike with Maxxis UST tubeless tires but I can't work out how to pump them up.
I tried pumping them up with a hand pump but no lack. Can someone give me advise how to get them working?

MRO

Likes Dirt
Take the wheel to the petrol station and use the compressor pump.

I think they are harder to do the first time so maybe in the future you will be able to use your hand pump but possibly not for the first time.

I am a newb at this but that is what i found.

Dozer

Heavy machinery.
Staff member
The most simple way is an air compressor. You need a big burst of air straight up to get the tyre to seat in the groove on the rim and you can't achieve that with many pumps. I've done it with a floor pump but that was a fairly stiff side walled tyre.
You need to also remember that at some stage you have to put your sealant in your tyre so once you've got the knack of seating the tyre you can let it down enough and use a syringe to put the required amount of sealant in. Roll your wheel around any which way you can and check for leaks. After that, you'll be able to ride!

BLKFOZ

Likes Dirt
I recently brought a bike with Maxxis UST tubeless tires but I can't work out how to pump them up.
I tried pumping them up with a hand pump but no lack. Can someone give me advise how to get them working?
I'm guessing you mean you can't work the valve out?
If it is presta, you need to unscrew the little knob first and depress the valve to make sure it isn't gummed up with sealant. Then either put on a presta compatible pump or use an adaptor and a normal car-type compressor.
If you mean fitting a tubeless tyre, thats a different story but still easily done at home with general tools.

teK--

Eats Squid
Install the tyres with a tube and leave for a night or two to shape the bead properly as it could have taken the shape of when it was all folded and tied up in packaging.