Pedalling Form

David2406

Blueeeeeeeey's on!
Hi, I've been riding mountain bikes for a massive 4 months now. When I ride I have the pedal in the middle of my foot, in the arch. Is this poor form, should I be retraining myself to use the front of my foot. I am riding a Giant Talon 29er 0 with the standard pedals that came with it. I have taken the soft plastic foot guides off.
Thanks
David

my02

Likes Dirt
First advice would be to Google Steve Hogg. He knows a couple of things.

FWIW I position the spindle of the pedal just behind the ball of my foot and find this best (having faffed around with positioning for a while myself).

The Duckmeister

Has a juicy midrange
You should have the ball of your foot basically over the centre of the pedal. As the previous post suggests, a bit of personal variation may be an option, but ball-over-spindle should be your first step.

driftking

Wheel size expert
+1 to the ball.
You get more power down with the ball of the foot and it also gives you more freedom in the foot to move the heel up and down. You tend to pressure the ball more too so it increases your grip on the pedal.

Last edited:

Vedsy

Likes Dirt
Agreed. Ball of the foot as a starting point then play around with it a bit to find what suits you. My feet get sore with the axle directly under the ball so I have my feet ever so slightly forward now, much more comfortable for me.

On a somewhat related topic, I've recently started riding my hardtail a lot more, and have noticed I tend to bounce in my seat ever so slighly when pedalling. Probably been doing it forever but never noticed on my FS bikes. Is there one particular cockpit setup item, or incorrect pedalling form type that typically causes that?

Dozer

Heavy machinery.
Staff member
You'll always get people's opinions but ultimately, it is your personal preference.