Jump landing.. how to land properly..

Zenith

Likes Bikes
Im new to dirt jumps especially big ones.. and was wondering if there is a proper way to land.. besides the smart A## coments of on your wheels.. :)

I rode the mountain bike track at SOPAC on the weekend but didnt jump more than about 2 foot in the air.. but i know i need to jump higher to clear the doubles. but i dont want to land and brake myself or the bike.

i know it has to be technique.. and not just the bike or tyre presssures etc.

what pressure should i run as well?

lobstar

Likes Dirt
you wanna nose in abit and basically get as close are you cant to landing with both wheels landing at the same time.

ando_freeagent

Likes Bikes and Dirt
In my opinion landing either try land with both wheels at the same time.
By nosing in a little, using your brakes in the air can help with this or by landing back wheel slightly first when learning mainly in case you come short back wheel is better than front.
You dont want to land and manual on the front wheel, mainly because if your wheel tucks under you pretty much face case the ground.

Suburban rider

Likes Dirt
In my opinion landing either try land with both wheels at the same time.
By nosing in a little, using your brakes in the air can help with this or by landing back wheel slightly first when learning mainly in case you come short back wheel is better than front.
You dont want to land and manual on the front wheel, mainly because if your wheel tucks under you pretty much face case the ground.
i agree ^^ its probably the best way to land

Dj Boi

Likes Dirt
Try land both wheels at the same time will work and try to stay away from landing on your front wheel you will end up going over the bars it does hurt from personal experience.

Zenith

Likes Bikes
thanks all, now to watch thoes vids and get out and practice..

i didnt think using your brakes in the air would do anything..

just shows you learn somthing every day :)