Help on updating my bike?

BlakZ

Likes Dirt
Hi all, see below for pics.

It's my first MTB ever. I bought it second hand about a year ago not knowing much about bikes! After buying it I realised the U-Turn function on the forks was broken, so Ive learnt to ride with 135mm of travel. Shortly after buying it I made it a 1 by 9, added chain-guide and bash guard, shortened the stem, and put some more substantial pedals on it. LBS did this work as I was a complete novice at. I ride purely for fun, and plan on entering some events later in the year (non-competitively). I realize it is a XC frame, but with the shortened stem, large travel and bash guard it really makes a robust bike to throw around. My ideal kind of riding is rough, bumpy and exciting,I like taking the fun line rather than the quickest. I have also done some basic dirt jumping sort of stuff on the bike, This is why I am posting here not in the XC forum!

Now that my riding is developing, and I know the sort of bike I want, I'm considering some changes. I'm happy with a hardtail at this point as I have the DH bike to cover that genre. I'm also interested in developing my bike home-mechanic skills. For the most part I am happy with the brakes (deore), shifters (X7) and rear derr. (X9). I am not set on the idea of replacing the bike, I am really happy with it apart from the things below... I don't think Ive learnt enough on this bike yet.

What I am looking at doing is, firstly:
-New tyres (tread is wearing and I want something a bit more AM)
-New forks ~ 140-150mm (perhaps http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=80275)

Questions to the floor-
Is it worth upgrading this bike or should I consider something entirely new?
Are the tyres and forks a good start? Would you consider any other changes?

Specs (or close to):
http://www.bikepedia.com/quickbike/...Model=Avalanche+Expert&Type=bike#.UA9fSWEnw0I

2012-07-07 11.13.03.jpg2012-06-30 14.48.21.jpg2012-07-07 11.54.23.jpg

willsy01

Eats Squid