Fork servicing - could I bribe someone to teach me (Sydney)

mrx78u

Likes Dirt
Hi RBers,

Forks and shocks are the only things I don't service on my bikes, I was hoping I could bribe someone to walk me through the process, I've got a set of fox F-series I want to service for now and use for a practice run, in future I have a set of revelations a monarch and a RP2 shock to maintain. I'm expecting it to be fairly easy, I just don't have the confidence to start pulling them apart yet.

I'm in Glenbrook but can travel around Sydney. Maybe I could buy your new seals or something as payment.

ChopSticks

Banned
dont require payment, and happy to offer some fork oil I have (used for my old 34's which I no longer have use for)
I'm no fork expert, but I do know how to take off the lowers/service, and can happily walk you through the process/give hand if you want

mrx78u

Likes Dirt
dont require payment, and happy to offer some fork oil I have (used for my old 34's which I no longer have use for)
I'm no fork expert, but I do know how to take off the lowers/service, and can happily walk you through the process/give hand if you want
That would be much appreciated, surely you wouldn't turn down beer though?

driftking

Wheel size expert
I doubt many people will ask for payment.

I would encourage you to read your technical manuals on the forks, try find them online if you don't have the hard copy.
There are usually servicing videos online too to help aid you too.

It will be much easier if you understand the forks parts, I would not advise going in somewhat blind.

ChopSticks

Banned
It will be much easier if you understand the forks parts, I would not advise going in somewhat blind.
+1
download the correct manual, confirm oil levels required..... everything else is generic

That would be much appreciated, surely you wouldn't turn down beer though?
Have you done seals before or just lowers?
All good... honestly not a beer guy.... or a drinker for that matter.