floor pump just DESTROYED non-folding bead?!

ned_stp

Likes Dirt
was setting up some Continetal Mountain King 2 non-folding (old style cheap from wiggle) took them to 30psi 4 times with still some sections not popping onto the bead. so i took them to 60psi (rated 65psi max) momentarily and BOOM the bead blew apart striking my brand new carbon rims! no visible damge to rims, but who knows about internal fractures.

has this happened to anyone before and is it the reason that conti has brought out a upgraded folding version of this tire.

c3024446

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Since the bead is wire and doesn't stretch as much as a folding rubber bead would, I'm not surprised this happened. Max pressure of the tyre is probably only 45PSI.

ned_stp

Likes Dirt
i will be honest...this is my first time setting up tubeless, so my virginity popped in a big way

tire clearly states 65psi max. if i exceeded the rim max pressure, would the rim not of failed instead of the tyre?

wiggle seems to think its not my fault as within 20mins of sending an email they offered me a replacement and upgrade to the new non folding version.

styler

Likes Dirt
I run continentals x kings and have never had a problem. The recommended pressure is 50psi and sometimes I need that to get them to seat.

Dozer

Heavy machinery.
Staff member
The bead blew apart? Wow, that probably the last place I would expect a tyre to fail. I've never seen that happen and find it quite odd as inflating the tyre would not put pressure on the bead so much as the only movement in it would be to get it to seat in the rim.
Are the tyres used? Is there a crack line down the down the side wall? Seems odd.

ChopSticks

Banned
Are you sure you didn't exceed max psi of the RIM?
not sure what OP's carbons rims are from.... but the Light bicycle ones are rated at 40psi (I recall)
Even Enve have a max of 45psi... so 60psi is wayyyy too much.