VIC New Summer Vic State XC Series 2011/12

mtbold

Likes Bikes
The Victorian State XC series is back to summer. Kicking off 4-Dec-2011 with Ballarat Sebastopol Cycle Club hosting Round 1 on a brand new course at Wimmera Hills Winery just 2hrs drive from central Melbourne.

I've posted course map and description at www.wimmerahills.com.au for round 1 as there is not a lot of lead time. For details of later rounds go to VSS

See you all there.

Last edited:

DoubleD

Likes Dirt
Logical?

I'm fairly new to this scene but it seemed very logical to have the State series running Winter and Spring, leading to the Vic Champs and then the Australian Series.

The new timetable mixes everything up with State rounds 1 week prior to Aust rounds. For someone interested in doing both it both hampers proper training and means protracted negotiations on the home front due to the major commitment it brings. Does it also mean the 2012 Vic Champs will just appear from nowhere this time next year with no lead up races?

Basically it doesn't seem to make a lot of sense. Yes the weather might be better but the apart from that what's the reasoning behind the decision?

akashra

Eats Squid
Basically it doesn't seem to make a lot of sense. Yes the weather might be better but the apart from that what's the reasoning behind the decision?
To the best of my knowledge, it's soley because Rob has labelled the move to Autumn/Spring as a failure - despite the fact that the series was poorly advertised and many people didn't even have a clue the races were actually on.

It was proposed to be moved to Winter/Spring (which Rob countered/insisted on Autumn/Spring, which we went with) so that you could have a logical progression from Club racing, on to State racing, and then to National racing over a year, without overlap and clashes on an already chock-full calendar.