What do XC riders think of American Classic MTB Disc Wheelset?

Oracle

Likes Dirt
Hi XC riders,

I'm trying to narrow down my search on a set of XC wheels for racing (most likely second hand), and want them to be as light as possible, but not something that's going to buckle/seize should they see a bit of unexpected rough track.

So has anyone had/have an American Classic MTB 350 Disc Wheelset, or other model wheelsets? If so what are your thoughts for the money? Reason being they seem to appear on eBay every once in a while and the weight sounds good.

And yes, whilst I'd love a pair of Mavic Crossmax or even DT Swiss wheels, I'm a student, so don't think I'll be able to afford a set (even second hand) any time soon, hence my interest in the American Classic MTB 350's for now.

Cheers, Lee

Last edited:

Some Guy

Likes Bikes and Dirt
I've been using the American Classic wheels on my MTB for 18 months, and I'm pretty happy with them. I have the CX-ray spoke upgrade which brings the weight down to 1440gr and is supposed to make the wheels stronger too. All I know is I haven't had to true them once.

They aren't without their weeknesses though, I've had to replace the bearings a few times and a couple of weeks ago the rear axle snapped. The parts to replace it were reasonably priced and readily available though, and given the price and how many Ks the wheels have done - and more to the point the conditions they have done them in - I'm not complaining.

A friend of mine (who is a much bigger guy too) has been using them for about two years without problems.

tjb

Likes Dirt
I've had a pair for 2 years. The rear is the problematic end. No worries with the front. The rear hub is the weak link.

First race out I blew a rear axle, I'm onto my 3rd rear axle now. I'm not heavy at 70 kg and I don't break much stuff.

The rims are no worries as has been said. I've got a 2nd pair laced to XT centrelock hubs and they are very trouble free, requiring very little truing.

Oracle