XC STOLEN 6/9/16 Yeti ASR Carbon Bling - 9.9kg

k3n!f

leaking out the other end
Wifey: What are you going to call this bike?
Me: Yolanda.
Wifey: Really? Why is this one your first girl bike?
Me: Because it has a squishy bum.

Turns out that wasn't the right thing to say...

I've been a hardtail rider since I started riding about a decade ago. Sadly my 9.1kg Yeti ARC Carbon has been subject to a series of unfortunate events and had to be replaced. Full story is documented here:
http://www.rotorburn.com/forums/showthread.php?275395-Yeti-ARC-Carbon-9-5kg-*Update-post-26*

Fortunately Rowney Sports, Yeti and Bike Culture helped with an upgrade to a squishy bike as I am now old and infirm.

IMG_4658.jpg
IMG_4662.jpg

Took all the bits off the hard tail and gave them a scrub.
IMG_4674.jpg
IMG_4675.jpg

And then put humpty back together again with a new cassette, chain, chainrings, rotors, tires, grips and press fit bottom bracket.
IMG_4680.jpg
IMG_4695.jpg

The only issues during the build were the internal cables which look nice, but are a pain in the bum. The other issue was with a Schwalbe tire which even the bike shop couldn't get to bead. I'll have to send it back for replacement.

The fork from the hard tail is 100mm and cannot be extended. The frame is made for 120-140mm so its pretty damn low in the front end. I'll give it a go because I don't want to have to buy another fork right now, but an upgrade may be required in the future.

The bike came in a 9.9kg actual weight with pedals. Pretty happy with that with a reliable build.
Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 1.39.25 pm (1).jpg

Quick post of my old ride, may it continue to flow down single track in bike heaven.
IMG_1298.jpg

Last edited:

Flow-Rider

Burner
I wish you have better luck with this one, nice looking bike. You can always get the shock tuned so that it is more firmer for the up hill power grinds.

creaky

XMAS Plumper
Is that a crack I see at the seat tube junction ?
:spy: