Reducing bike weight v's body weight

Jbsp1

Likes Dirt
Does anyone know what the comparison is between reducing bike weight to body weight? If I was to drop 2kgs off my bike weight, taking it to around 10kg, is that far better than losing 5kg from body weight. Is the cost of dropping bike weight beneficial in reference to keeping body weight gaining muscle/power?

jathanas

Likes Bikes and Dirt
I'm no scientist but I'd say that dropping 5kg of bodyweight would improve performance more than a 2kg reduction of bike weight.

Especially if that can be achieved without significant loss of power. Unless you're a track sprinter too much muscle is a disadvantage.

Cheers, J

cleeshoy

Eats Squid
I imagine losing 5kg of body weight is cheaper (and more beneficial) to lose then dropping 2kg in bike weight.......if you ride your bike enough the body weight will fall off :)

Bushranger

Likes Dirt
It's as good as gram for gram. Lose the body weight until healthy minimum. But no reason why you should deliberately ride a heavier bike until you do. There are other advantages of the top of the line or next few under than just the weight.

Keep it real - buy what you want, just don't be deluded or kid yourself.

Mattydv

Likes Bikes and Dirt
I'm recalling this from a few months ago, but 5kg is considered a significant handicap for prime racehorses. Thoroughbreds are hundreds of kg's of muscle and sinew. Imagine what 5kg contributes to an 80kg, 5"10 male?

Lose the bodyweight, before the bike weight. It will be quicker, cheaper, you'll drop more total weight and subsequently you'll go much faster.

adaib

Likes Dirt
If you drop 2 kg from your wheels it would make a huge difference to dropping it from your belly.
Rotating weight. It would allow you to accelerate faster

David56543

Likes Bikes
Seal the frame and fill it with helium......same with the tyres.