making a Frame???

Nathan_S

Likes Bikes and Dirt
hey guys,

Next year im in my final year of school and one of the subjects i do is technology studies. In this subject you create ideas and make a folio to match it and seeing as i'll be in my last year of school we get to make whatever we want.

So im thinking of building a freeriding frameor something along those lines and i was wondering if it would be worth my while or is it to risky?

kholden_1992

Likes Dirt
i think you should be fine. you pretty much have a whole year to get it mint don't you?

the only risky part would be cutting your driving finger off like i did today lol

Nathan_S

Likes Bikes and Dirt
yeah we got a whole but also need to compose a design folio with it

I was wondering if it woiuld be to hard to make all the pivot points right or just by a whole frame?

scoobydid

Likes Dirt
If you're passionate about it then do it.
Why not try approaching existing frame builders (email) and let them know what you are doing and what you hope to achieve. Hopefully, one of them will be supportive and give you the information you might need to make a more informed decision.
I'd probably look at doing that soon so you have more time to plan or, if it turns out to be too big a task, change the scope of your project.

Nathan_S

Likes Bikes and Dirt
i was thinking of making a nicolai frame so i emai lthem and they should give me the geometry specs?

Jimass

Eats Squid
No. Unless you pay royalties that won't happen. You need to design you OWN frame right?

Email smaller companies and ask for some general info on what pivots work and what don't ect.

.BP.

Likes Dirt
Seriously don't bother unless you are fully dedicated as i have done that coarse and everyone tends to get over the subject. At the start it will be all good you will enjoy it but when the end of the year comes around you will regret choosing the subject.