Fox CTD rear suspension

Art Vanderlay

Hourly daily
I'm sure there are peeps out there that know a lot more about suspension than me.
I have an anthem 29er 100mm travel, set up feels pretty good. Only had a full suspension bike for a few months.

Climb and trail feel the same to me, where as the descend mode feels softer.

From what I understand, the rear shock isn't a total lock out like the fork or can't be totally locked out like the fork? I would like to get the climb mode stiffer, less movement if possible

Would just like to hear others opinions on the CTD. My rear shock is the Fox CTD performance model (non kashima)

Cheers

SlowManiac

Likes Bikes and Dirt
I have a Fox CTD shock. I'm no expert (first DS bike).

To me the climb and trail mode feet totally different. Climb is pretty much a lockout, very little movement. Trail is soft enough for descending but firm enough for the flat. a bit of pedal bob.

Ezkaton

Eats Squid
My Lady has a CTD rear shock.

Climb is practically locked, maybe 0.5-1mm movement.
Trail is standard.
Descend is softer.

If your climb has the same movement as trail, perhaps a service is in order.

Art Vanderlay

Hourly daily
Thanks for the replies, sounds like I may have a bit to much movement in the climb mode. Definitely getting it back in for a service / check over

BLKFOZ

Likes Dirt
I find climb mode useless on my superfly 100. I leave it in trail all the time - even commuting to trail heads.
When in climb, it is very stiff but seems like it has no rebound and feels like a (very short travel) pogo stick.

99_FGT

Likes Bikes and Dirt
OP - is the Climb too relaxed or the Trail too firm.
There is adjustment on the Trail mode that changes the platform, and again, Climb is still a platform mode