Fat man and tyre squirm

slowmick

38-39"
I have a question for the brains trust here. When hitting off camber sections on the Aneurysm trail out at Lysterfield I get a very squirmy feeling in the back wheel, I even managed to start rolling the tyre off the rim on one run. The tyre now has the cross hatching on the side of it like I am running to low a pressure.

I run a Maxxis Ardent 2.4 EXO wire bead with a regular tube on a Specialized Roval Aluminium rim at 35psi. With riding gear I am close to 120 kg.

What am I doing wrong? Do I need more pressure? thicker tubes? dual ply tyres? A diet? To harden up?

The Rovals may not be your choice of rim but it's what I've got to work with (they are only a few months old so replaceing them is off the table).

Static 81

Likes Bikes
Not that I'm a professional by any means But i'm running the same tyre, am tipping the scales at around 105 kitted up and riding a hardtail.
I run my front and rear at 60 psi and I'm wondering if that isn't too low. (Please note; I used to ride a bmx with pressures exceeding 110psi. So anything lower than 90 feels odd to me)

However, If you're rolling the tyre off the rim, pressure would be the key factor here. Maybe increase pressure 5psi at a time and see how it feels?

Last edited:

Comic Book Guy

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Does sound like a pressure problem.

I'm a fat bastard and I run my rear at 50-60psi with thorn proof tubes. My experience is the thicker tubes make the tyre feel firmer.

outtacontrol

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Wow they are some big numbers getting bandied around... I would think an increase in pressure would definitely help, but will also reduce the traction the tyre can get. If the tyre is too hard it will just pinball off everything.

A tyre with a stronger sidewall might be a better solution?? Maybe look at UST or dual ply tyres? They will be heavier, but should allow you to run pressures that will still allow the tyre to grip properly...

John U

MTB Precision