Di2Q

Status
Not open for further replies.

moorey

call me Mia
I'm new to the electrickery wizardry of shifting, but now considering it for Felix...

The routing on his Revel makes for a long cable, and has lots of unavoidable bends including looping under the BB shell. As a result, I end up swapping out both inner and outer WAAAAAY to often to get perfect shifting. I can't tolerate less than perfect shifting on his bike, it will lead to broken chains and damaged cassettes with the was he rides (he's from the @ozzybmx school of kids shifting). He also likes to run a stiffer clutch than most to minimise chain slap/drop.

I happened to see an XT shifter and derailleur for less than I expected it would cost. What are the cons, aside from the expense? He hasn't busted a derailleur in 3-4 years of aggressive riding and racing. but just know he will strike a rock or collect a stick the minute he gets an expensive rear.

Any thoughts or feedback appreciated.

creaky

XMAS Plumper
Only used Di2 on my roadie. Been absolutely faultless and great shifting for 5 years now .... aside from when I bent a FD cage somehow and munted a RD cage somehow, which was an expensive exercise.

Would definitely look at electronics on the mtb if the cost was more realistic. Wires are so last decade though. Why not the SRAM GX or whatever it is 'upgrade' option?

moorey

call me Mia
Only used Di2 on my roadie. Been absolutely faultless and great shifting for 5 years now .... aside from when I bent a FD cage somehow and munted a RD cage somehow, which was an expensive exercise.

Would definitely look at electronics on the mtb if the cost was more realistic. Wires are so last decade though. Why not the SRAM GX or whatever it is 'upgrade' option?
GX generally is passable in 11sp, shite in eagle. And not an option in 11sp wireless is it?
Planning to stay 11sp.
Cheers for the feedback though. It’s pretty attractive if the shifting is bang on.

leitch

Feelin' a bit rrranty