Newly Released Suspension & Components General

HamboCairns

Thanks for all the bananas
Fair enough, I'm not in a position to buy a new fork yet but at 100kg, I wonder if coil based is the way forward? Most of my riding is technical up and down.

blacksp20

Likes Bikes and Dirt
yes. coil is the way forward for you....
Don’t know if I agree with that. Previously had an X-Fusion Slant and currently run a DVO Diamond and at 115kg I had no issues with either of them being to firm at the top or bottoming out too easily.

madstace

Likes Dirt
that's fair enough @blacksp20, I have limited experience with different forks. I do love my 36 with a smash pot conversion - they get moving so much better than when they were air.

Hambo has plenty of time to try air, coil and elastomers while he saves up. Ultimately the most expensive fork will feel like crap if set up badly.
In fairness the only suspension I've seen @blacksp20 bottom out is the rear shock on a 2008 Giant Reign set up for a whippet :p

+1 for DVO but go the Onyx, I reckon I'm fat enough these days to vouch for it. Diamond is still an amazing fork though!

ozzybmx

taking a shit with my boobs out
+1 for DVO but go the Onyx
I really like my Onxy, its night and day from any fork I've had before, though there is a lot of settings on it, not a plug and play item.

The OTT setting is pretty special, that was my biggest gripe with Fox, even going Push coil it was still too slow on small bump.

Will probably still be messing about with it in 6 months... need to write down my current settings before any further adjustments.

Would be awesome if other suspension manufacturers created an app like Cane Creek, you just put in your shock/fork name and the app knows all the settings, clicks from end to end and tracks all changes.

Petero

Likes Dirt
I really like my Onxy, its night and day from any fork I've had before, though there is a lot of settings on it, not a plug and play item.