Most Bulletproof Wheelset

smitho

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Any suggestions on the most bulletproof wheel set, where weight is not an issue.

The eMates I ride with have systematically destroyed everything that they’ve fitted including Light Bicycle, eThirteens, various Bonteagers and a few others.

It’s almost like fitting regular bike components to a bike with significantly more weight and speed is not a good idea.

I suggested Hope Pro 4s built up with Stans Flow EX3, with 36 spokes.

I haven’t ridden DT Swiss since the 2000s, but maybe FR560s as a rim choice could be an option?

Other options might be the Hunt DH rims, Nextie DH or Santa Cruz Reserve DH rims.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jabubu

let you google that for me
I have no experience with them but these guys seem to rate them - DT Swiss FR541

beeb

Dr. Beebenson, PhD HA, ST, Offset (hons)
Don't know about real-world lifespans/strength, but the Zipp Moto 3zero wheels sound like they'd take an almighty beating (but with a price-tag to match).

Or what about running inserts for some pinch-flat protection?

smitho

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Don't know about real-world lifespans/strength, but the Zipp Moto 3zero wheels sound like they'd take an almighty beating (but with a price-tag to match).

The above rim destruction has been with full cushcore.

beeb

Dr. Beebenson, PhD HA, ST, Offset (hons)
You need to buy something first.
I remember there used to be a guy on here with a Ragley hardtail that used to piss and moan about wanting a new bike but not being able to afford it. He used to get quite sad when people gave him the Joe Hockey "Why not just get a better job (or have more money)?" response. Maybe he just didn't have the money at the time.

caad9

Likes Bikes and Dirt